How often is mandated reporter training required in PA? (2023)

Table of Contents

How often do you need to take mandated reporter training in PA?

Mandated Reporter Training

Act 31 requires all employees licensed by the Pennsylvania Department of State take a 2-3 hour training on Recognizing and Reporting Child Abuse every two years.

(Video) Mandated Reporter Training Overview
How long does PA mandated reporter certificate last for?

Every employee of a school entity and its independent contractors who have direct contact with children must complete a minimum of three hours of training every five years.

(Video) Mandated Reporter Training
(Greenville County Schools)
How long is Act 126 good for?

The training is a requirement for employees of school entities every 5 years.

(Video) Child Abuse Recognition and Mandated Reporter Training (2 CE)
(Dr. Mansoor Madani)
How do you get a mandated reporter certificate in PA?

Go to the Pennsylvania Child Welfare Resource Center for a FREE 3-hour on-line course that provides information on:
  1. Recognition of child maltreatment.
  2. Your obligation or opportunity to report suspicions of abuse.
  3. Detailed procedures for making a report of child maltreatment.

(Video) Mandated Reporter Training
(Acworth Parks)
What is mandated reporting in PA?

Mandated reporters are certain adults, who are legally required to report suspected child abuse if they have reasonable cause to suspect that a child is a victim of child abuse. The law requires that the mandated reporter identify themselves and where they can be reached.

(Video) Mandated Reporter Training - Maltreatment Types
Do volunteers need mandated reporter training in PA?

As part of the requirements of becoming a volunteer, you must complete the mandated reporter training. The training requires 3 hours to complete, but you do not have to complete it all at one time. Once you have completed the training, you will receive a certificate of completion.

(Video) Mandated Reporter Employment Protections in PA with Debra Wolfe, M.Ed. | J&K Seminars
(J&K Seminars)
How long are PA clearances good for?

Get a Clearance

Clearances are required for an employee or unpaid volunteer at a minimum of every 60 months from the date of the oldest clearance.

(Video) Sample ChildLine Report | Mandated Reporter Training
(Michelle McDyre)
Do PA mandated reporters have to give their name?

A report must be made when the child is known or suspected of being a victim of abuse or neglect. Only clergy-penitent and attorney-client privileges are permitted. Inclusion of Reporter's Name in Report The reporter is not specifically required by statute to provide his or her name in the report.

(Video) Reporting Child Abuse: Mandated Reporters
Is everyone a mandated reporter in PA?

YES. Mandated reporters, by law, must report suspected abuse when you have reason to suspect on the basis of medical, professional or other training and experience, that the child has been abused.

(Video) Child Abuse: Mandated Reporter Training for California (General)
(Vector Fire)
What is Act 31 in PA?

Act 31 of 2014 states that the Bureau of Professional and Occupational Affairs (BPOA), in conjunction with the Department of Human Services (DHS) is required to ensure that all persons applying for issuance of an initial license as a health-related licensee or funeral director (mandatory reporters under section 6311 of ...

(Video) Introduction to Mandated Reporter Training
(Nova Bucks)

What is Act 48 in PA?

​General Act 48 FAQ. Beginning July 1, 2000, Act 48 of 1999 requires persons holding Pennsylvania professional educator certification to complete continuing education requirements every five years to maintain their certificate status as active whether employed or not.

(Video) Part 1 - Pennsylvania child abuse prevention and mandatory reporting training for volunteers
How do I get my free ACT 48 hours in PA?

Does PDE provide any free Act 48 course for Pennsylvania-certified educators? ​The Standards Aligned System (SAS)Opens In A New Window provides free Act 48 eligible courses. To access these course, create a free login, and click on "My SAS Tools" in the upper right corner of the site. Then click on "PD Center".

How often is mandated reporter training required in PA? (2023)
How do I get my PA Act 33 clearance?

Carefully review the following information:
  1. Go to and select Create Individual Account.
  2. Select Login.
  3. Select Access My Clearances.
  4. Agree to the Terms and Conditions.
  5. Scroll to the bottom of the page and click Continue.
  6. Select Create Clearance Application.
  7. a.

How long does a mandated reporter has to make a ChildLine in PA?

What else must be done after making a report to ChildLine? If an oral report was made to ChildLine, a report of suspected child abuse (CY 47) must also be completed and forwarded to the county children and youth agency within 48 hours after making the report.

Is a lawyer a mandated reporter in PA?

An attorney affiliated with an agency, institution, organization or other entity, including a school or regularly established religious organization that is responsible for the care, supervision, guidance or control of children.

Which of the following is true of mandatory reporters?

13. Which of the following is true of mandatory reporters? Learner Response:Mandatory reporters must report any alleged or suspected incidents of abuse or neglect, even if they did not witness it.

In what circumstance must a mandated person make a mandated report?

As a mandated person, under the legislation you are required to report any knowledge, belief or reasonable suspicion that a child has been harmed, is being harmed, or is at risk of being harmed.

Which of the following is an example of a mandatory reporter?

This typically includes social workers, teachers, health care workers, child care providers, law enforcement, mental health professionals, and other educators and medical professionals, although certain states hold that all citizens are mandated reporters.

Are teachers in PA mandated reporters?

Pennsylvania law requires teachers and school employees to notify child protective services with any reasonable suspicions that a child is being hurt or is hurting him/herself or others in any way. Because you will be in contact with children, you have responsibilities to protect them.

Are nurses mandated reporters in PA?

Under section 6311(b) of the CPSL (relating to persons required to report suspected child abuse), professional nurses (RNs), licensed practical nurses (LPNs) and certified registered nurse practitioners (CRNPs) are included among the enumeration of persons required to report suspected child abuse.

Are counselors mandated reporters in PA?

(a) General rule. (1) Under 23 Pa. C.S. § 6311 (relating to persons required to report suspected child abuse), licensed professional counselors are considered mandated reporters.

How long are fingerprints good for in PA?

​Fingerprint Processing and Storage

After five years, the reports are destroyed. Neither PDE or the FBI or IDEMIA stores an applicant's fingerprints. If an applicant is required to obtain a new report, the applicant must be fingerprinted again in order to obtain the report.

What are the 3 PA clearances?

​Clearances/Background Checks

The following three background checks are required: Department of Human Services Child Abuse History Clearance. Pennsylvania State Police Request for Criminal Records Check. Federal Criminal History Record Information (CHRI)

Does Pennsylvania follow the 7 year rule for background checks?

However, for positions offering an annual salary of over $75,000 each year, the FCRA restrictions do not apply, and the background check can report back further than seven years. There are no restrictions on convictions; all convictions, regardless of when they occurred, can be reported under the FCRA guidelines.

Do mandated reporters report past abuse Pennsylvania?

It is not required by Pennsylvania law or Penn State policy to report historical abuse if the alleged victim is now over the age of 18.

What CPS can and Cannot do in Pennsylvania?

CPS can remove children from the home.

They need to have a court order or be able to prove that the child is in imminent danger in order to remove a child. Imminent danger could include things like physical harm, sexual contact, neglect, or firearms left in the open.

What does the term mandatory reporter mean?

Mandatory reporters are required by law to report suspected child abuse and neglect to government authorities.

Can you press charges against someone for making false accusations to CPS in PA?

A person commits a misdemeanor of the second degree if the person intentionally or knowingly makes a false report of child abuse under 23 Pa. C.S. Ch. 63 (relating to child protective services) or intentionally or knowingly induces a child to make a false claim of child abuse under 23 Pa.

Are mandated reporters provided immunity?

Failure to report known or reasonable suspicion of child abuse, including sexual abuse, is a misdemeanor. Mandated reporters are provided immunity from civil or criminal liability as a result of making a mandated report of child abuse.

How do I get a CPS case dismissed in Pennsylvania?

Remember: CPS can dismiss your case at any time they feel the child is in no real danger or if all agreements, services and requested tasks have been completed. A judge can also dismiss a case if CPS fails to provide sufficient evidence of abuse or neglect.

What is Act 44 in PA?

The goal of Act 44 was to provide necessary funding for statewide interstate, road, bridge, and transit projects across the state. The revenue was to come from expanded tolling in the state. Under Act 44, Pennsylvania made an application to the Federal Highway Administration for permission to place tolls (I-80).

What is Act 151 in PA?

Act 151 of 1994 specified that employees of public schools, hired as of July 1, 1996, must undergo background checks for child or student abuse.

What is Act 43 in PA?

Amending Title 53 (Municipalities Generally) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, in municipal authorities, further providing for purposes and powers.

What is Act 84 in PA?

Act 84 - Seizure Recognition and Related First Aid Training

Act 84 enables professional employees of a school entity to be trained in seizure recognition and response through an online course or in-person training approved by Department of Health (DOH).

What is Act 13 Pennsylvania?

Act 13/Impact Fee provides for the imposition of an unconventional gas well fee (also called an impact fee), and the distribution of those funds to local and state governments. Act 13/Impact Fee also contains provisions regarding how the impact fee may be spent.

What is Act 129 in PA?

Energy Efficiency and Conservation Program

Act 129 directed electric distribution companies with at least 100,000 customers to develop and file efficiency and conservation plans.

How many instructional minutes are required in Pennsylvania?

All public schools are to be open each school year for at least one hundred eighty (180) days of instruction for pupils. The number of instructional hours in a school year is to be at least 450 for half-time pre-K and kindergarten, 900 for full-time pre-K and kindergarten and elementary, and 990 for secondary.

What is an Act 80 day in Pennsylvania?

The purpose of the Act 80 provision of Section 1504 of the Pennsylvania Public School Code of 1949 is for the school board to preplan activities for purposes deemed appropriate by the Secretary of Education with such teacher activities scheduled to occur instead of instructional time.

Can I bring a clock to act?

Watch or Other Timing Device

You may bring a watch, timer, or stopwatch to pace yourself during testing, but it may not have an alarm. Your watch or other timing device must be removed and placed on your desk while in the test room, so that it remains visible to staff during the test.

How much do PA clearances cost?

Complete your clearance application online using a credit card for a cost of $22. You are responsible for this cost. If you are unable to accomplish your clearance application online, you can print out the form and mail it to the State Police.

How long is Act 114 clearance good for?

Act 151 (Pennsylvania Child Abuse History), Act 34 (Pennsylvania Criminal History) and Act 114 (FBI) must be renewed every five years.

How far back does a fingerprint background check go?

Technically, an FBI fingerprint check can go back as far as a person's record goes. The check simply pulls any data associated with the fingerprint in question—be in personal information (name, address, family members, etc.) or criminal history information.

How often are mandated reporters training in PA?

Act 31 requires all employees licensed by the Pennsylvania Department of State take a 2-3 hour training on Recognizing and Reporting Child Abuse every two years.

When did mandatory reporting become law in PA?

Provisions of the Act of December 12, 1973 (P.L. 397, No. 141), known as the "Educator Discipline Act," including mandatory reporting requirements. This Act was revised in February, 2014 and enhances many aspects of the Act.

How long does CPS have to investigate in PA?

(1) Investigations to determine whether to accept the family for service and whether a report is founded, indicated or unfounded shall be completed within 60 days in all cases.

What does CPS need to remove a child in PA?

CPS needs a court order to remove your child from the home. The judge must determine that the child remaining in the situation is contrary to their welfare. If a caseworker believes your child is in immediate danger and there is no time to wait for a court order, then they may call the police.

What is considered abuse in PA?

Child abuse in Pennsylvania is defined as when an individual acts or fails to prevent something that causes harm or a high likelihood of harm to a child under the age of 18. This harm can take many forms, such as bodily injury, serious mental injury, or sexual abuse or exploitation.

How often is mandated reporter training required in CT?

13. How often do I need to re-take this training? You are only required to fully complete this training once. However, if the BOR revises its policy to increase training frequency, then all employees will be notified at that time.

What is true of mandatory reporters?

Mandated reporters are legally required to follow state laws about reporting abuse and neglect. Failing to make a report is a crime and is classed as a misdemeanor in most states, with specific penalties varying by jurisdiction. They must report even if they are uncertain about whether or not the allegation is true.

Which of the following is a requirement of mandated reporters?

All persons who are mandated reporters are required, by law, to report all known or suspected cases of child abuse or neglect.

How often is mandated reporter training required in NY?

The NYS Mandated Reporter Certificate is a one-time requirement for initial licensure. After the successful completion of the two-hour web-based training course, mandated reporters are required to maintain a permanent copy of the certificate.

How long does mandated reporter training last CT?

The general training module is a four hour training that includes four sections. Each section will include practice test questions or vignettes.

You might also like
Popular posts
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Rev. Leonie Wyman

Last Updated: 03/08/2023

Views: 5714

Rating: 4.9 / 5 (59 voted)

Reviews: 90% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Rev. Leonie Wyman

Birthday: 1993-07-01

Address: Suite 763 6272 Lang Bypass, New Xochitlport, VT 72704-3308

Phone: +22014484519944

Job: Banking Officer

Hobby: Sailing, Gaming, Basketball, Calligraphy, Mycology, Astronomy, Juggling

Introduction: My name is Rev. Leonie Wyman, I am a colorful, tasty, splendid, fair, witty, gorgeous, splendid person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.